Who are we?

WELCOME TO THE «ENJOY THE RIDE» WEBSITE. PLEASE FORGIVE US IN ADVANCE IF YOU FIND ENGLISH MISTAKES. WE DID THE TRANSLATION ON OUR OWN TRYING THE BEST WE COULD, BUT WE ARE CONSCIOUS IT IS NOT PERFECT. 


«Enjoy the ride» is a website that tempts to travel. Whether it is a day trip or a trip of several days, discovering our world is a passion for us.
We are Dom and J.R. (nicknames), two people from the Arcachon Basin, France. There began our taste for travel and photography, and our desire to live our lives to the full!!!
In the beginning, we contended ourselves with very nice rides in our region, where we lived for long years before we leave the nest each one on his side. Then, we broadened having one day trips to neighboring departments. Finally, we decided to travel abroad, and it has never let us go.
As we are willing to share our experiences, memories and little anecdotes with you, we are going to evoke our travels through pictures, articles, and various other sections.
Of course, you may ask us various questions or advice, give us your impressions and share your experiences, or even give us some good tips as well. To do it, use the «
Contacts & exchanges» section. You can also leave comments on the visitors’ book, or directly on the section you are visiting. IMPORTANT: as you give your name, first name or nickname, make sure you only use alphanumeric characters with no accent, dieresis, punctuation etc.
Finally, a 
funny section is hidden in this website; it will surely delight old and young alike!!!
 


Presentation of sections

Naturally, most of this website is devoted to photos. Though it is about our trips abroad, we could not resist showing you some pictures of our region (click here). A large part is dedicated to articles as well, which mix information about visited places and our personal experiences.
We loved most of the cities we visited, but some of them made a bigger impression on us than the others. The «Our favorite cities» section presents them.
A whole chapter is dedicated to our logo and our by-products. You will find further details in the following paragraph.
«
Our travel view» deals with the way we look at that real passion, and our way to live it. That is favorable to exchanges, for each one of us has its own mind about it, and yours can be different to ours. Yet, that is just what makes it fulfilling. So, feel free to come forward!
And what would trips be without anecdotes? Either they are real moments of happiness, unforgettable encounters, bursts of laughter, or on the contrary trouble, they are whole part of the adventure, and make a lasting impression on us. That is the reason why they are worth a whole section. Besides, just to add a little touch of exoticism, we devoted a subsection to my trip alone to Madagascar (
click here), even though «Enjoy the ride» is about our trips together.
Finally, we had the joy and the privilege to be requested by professional websites on the theme of travel as part of editorial partnerships. They proposed us to exchange unpublished articles, as well as an interview. You will find the links
here.


Presentation of the «Enjoy the ride» logo and by-products

The groovy small logo above is our creation. We filed the patent and got many by-products supporting it manufactured (stickers, business cards, postcards, mugs, pens, magnets, key rings, mouse-pads, streamers, beach bags, t-shirts…). We sometimes give some of them to people with whom we sympathize during a furtive encounter, provided they accept to be photographed with to promote our website (click here). We also ask them to write a little note on our streamer with a permanent marker, with the date, the place and their signature. That promotes our website as well, and allows us to create links and to keep memories of those brief but always meaningful encounters.
According  to stickers, we stick them during our rides or trips in spots that make a big impression on us one way or another, as well in France as abroad, with photos in support (see the ««Enjoy the ride» Logos» section). Sometimes, we also give some of them to people we meet, asking them to stick it to the place they like the most, hoping to come across it someday even if chances are few.
This logo and the three little words around it are a philosophy of life: the planet, full of treasures and surprises, tempts us to explore it and enjoy every moment of that exciting adventure. We travelers, small or big, are all connected. So, if you see a small map of the world winking at you during one of your trips in the middle of a square, in a corner of a street or on a beach, you will think of us!


The origin of the «Enjoy the ride» logo

The origin of this symbol is quite simple: before being a website, «Enjoy the ride» was a novel. I am an amateur writer in my spare time, and this artwork is inspired by the diary that we keep during our trips. I added some fiction, and a little touch of fantasy and dreamlike. Some of the characters are fictitious, others are real: indeed, we met them during our rides or our trips; and even though it was brief, they made a lasting impression on us one way or another. So, we felt that the best way to explain the meaning of this logo was simply to show the excerpt of the novel where it appears for the first time:

 (...) Then, Tom noticed a sticker representing the planet Earth schematized with blue oceans and green continents on the violin case lying on the floor. It was joined with a smiley-face sending a wink. Around was written «Enjoy the ride».
«I love this stuff! he said. What does it mean exactly?
- Oh, many things, answered Lori: you must enjoy every trip, whether it’s a short ride or a long journey. Life is movement. Living is exploring, meeting, discovering. It’s a tireless search for happiness. You and your friends are concerned: make the best out of your journey that begins. Make it unforgettable and share that joy with other people. Besides, life itself is a journey, so enjoy every moment of your life.
- «Life is a journey», repeated Chaz. I love it!          
- As for me, I love everything you just said, added Tom. You are both a violinist and a philosopher. I’m impressed.
- Thanks. You know, «ride» has many meanings, hence the choice of this word.
- It’s true, approved Irina. It can also mean a ride by motorcycle or on horseback. Even in surfing and bodyboarding: (...) the ride is the time you spend on the wave. And every time, you tell yourself to enjoy it, because it’s a huge moment, a unique sensation. It lasts a few seconds. It’s both long and short. It’s a philosophy, as a matter of fact: you share the life of a wave. You start your ride when it’s formed, and you end it when it dies. A symbol!» (...)

 
Dom


NB - PATENTS FOR THE NOVEL «ENJOY THE RIDE» AND FOR THE LOGO HAVE BEEN FILED. ANY REPRODUCTION, EVEN PARTIAL, IS STRICTLY PROHIBITED AND LIABLE TO PROSECUTION.


Published on December, 1st 2012

Modified on April 24th 2020


Our last section!
«Our photos - Iceland»



Our section

«Our photos - Faroe Islands»

Click here



The «Our articles - USA (2013)» section, new version!

More photos, more text!

Click here



The «Our favorite cities - Flagstaff» section with new images!

Click here



Our unreleased article about Austria published by the 38 000 Km website!
Special thanks to Mireille and Jeanne

Click here



Our unreleased article about the South of Brazil published by the Geoploria website!
Special thanks to Sylvie and Mandy

Click here



Our interview published by the Geoploria website!
Special thanks to Sylvie and Mandy

Click here



Italie - Civita di Bagnoregio

The article from the Geoploria website about Italy and Portugal as part of our editorial partnership!

Click here

Qui sommes-nous ?

«Enjoy the ride» est un website qui invite au voyage. Que ce soit une virée d'une journée ou un trip de plusieurs jours, la découverte de notre monde est une passion pour nous.
Nous sommes Dom et J.R. (pseudos), deux personnes originaires du Bassin d'Arcachon, et c'est là qu'ont débuté notre goût pour les voyages et la photographie, et notre envie de vivre la vie à fond !!!
Au début, nous nous contentions de quelques virées très sympas dans notre région, où nous avons vécu de longues années avant de prendre notre envol chacun de son côté. Puis, nous avons élargi en faisant de petites excursions d’une journée dans des départements voisins. Finalement, nous avons décidé de voyager à l’étranger, et ça ne nous a plus lâchés.
Désireux de partager avec vous nos expériences, souvenirs et petites anecdotes, nous allons évoquer nos voyages à travers des images, des articles, et diverses autres rubriques.
Bien sûr, vous pourrez nous poser diverses questions, nous demander des conseils, nous faire part de vos impressions et vos expériences, voire nous donner vous aussi quelques bons tuyaux. Pour ce faire, veuillez utiliser la rubrique «Contact & échanges». Vous pouvez aussi laisser des commentaires, soit sur le livre d’or, soit directement sur les rubriques visitées. IMPORTANT : en donnant vos noms, prénoms ou pseudos, prenez soin de n'utiliser que des caractères alphanumériques sans accents, trémas, ponctuation ou autres.
Enfin, une rubrique insolite se cache dans ce website ; elle ravira sûrement les petits et les grands !!!


Présentation des rubriques

Naturellement, la majeure partie de ce website est consacrée aux photos. Bien qu’il concerne nos voyages ensemble à l’étranger, nous n’avons pu résister à l’envie de vous montrer quelques images de notre région (cliquez ici). Une part importante est également dédiée aux articles, qui mêlent des infos sur les lieux visités et nos expériences personnelles.
Nous avons aimé la plupart des villes que nous avons visitées, mais certaines nous ont marquées plus que d’autres. La rubrique «Nos villes de cœur» vous les présente.
Un chapitre entier est dédié à notre logo et nos produits dérivés. Vous trouverez de plus amples détails dans le paragraphe suivant.
«Notre vision du voyage» aborde le regard que nous portons sur cette véritable passion, et notre manière de la vivre. Cela est propice aux échanges, car chacun se fait sa propre opinion, et la vôtre peut différer de la nôtre. Or, c’est justement cela qui est enrichissant. Alors n’hésitez-pas à vous manifester !
Et que seraient les voyages sans anecdotes ? Que ce soient de purs moments de bonheur, des rencontres inoubliables, des crises de fou rire, ou au contraire des tracas, elles font partie intégrante de l’aventure, et nous marquent profondément. C’est pourquoi elles méritent à elles-seules une rubrique. D’ailleurs, histoire d’y rajouter une petite touche d'exotisme, nous avons consacré un sous-chapitre à mon trip seul à Madagascar (cliquez ici), même si «Enjoy the ride» concerne nos voyages ensemble.
Enfin, nous avons eu le bonheur et le privilège d'être sollicités par des websites professionnels sur le thème du voyage dans le cadre de partenariats éditoriaux. Ils nous ont proposé des échanges d'articles inédits, ainsi qu'une interview. Vous trouverez les liens ici.


Présentation du logo «Enjoy the ride» et des produits dérivés

Le sympathique petit logo ci-dessus est notre création. Nous avons déposé le brevet et fait fabriquer de nombreux produits dérivés le supportant (stickers, cartes de visites, cartes postales, mugs, stylos, magnets, porte-clés, tapis de souris, banderoles, sacs de plage, t-shirts...). Nous en offrons parfois à des personnes avec qui nous sympathisons le temps d'une rencontre furtive, sous la condition qu'elles acceptent d'être prises en photos avec ceux-ci pour assurer notre promotion (cliquez ici). Nous leur demandons également d’écrire un petit mot au marqueur sur notre banderole, accompagné de la date, de l'endroit et de leur signature. Cela assure également la promotion de notre website, et nous permet de créer des liens et de conserver un souvenir de ces rencontres éphémères, mais toujours marquantes.
Concernant les stickers, nous en apposons lors de nos virées ou voyages dans des endroits qui nous marquent d'une façon ou d'une autre, autant en France qu'à l'étranger, avec photos à l'appui (voir la rubrique «Logos «Enjoy the ride»»). Parfois, nous en donnons aussi à des personnes que nous rencontrons, en leur demandant de le coller à l'endroit qui leur plaît le plus, espérant tomber dessus un jour même si les chances sont infimes.
Ce logo et les trois petits mots qui l'accompagnent, c'est toute une philosophie de vie : c'est la planète, toute en richesses et en surprises, qui nous invite à l'explorer et à profiter de chaque instant de cette exaltante aventure. Nous les voyageurs, petits ou grands, sommes tous connectés. Aussi, si vous apercevez lors d'un de vos périples une petite mappemonde vous adresser un clin d'œil au cœur d'une place, au coin d'une rue ou au bord d'une plage, vous penserez à nous !


L’origine de logo «Enjoy the ride»

L'origine de ce symbole est toute simple : avant d'être un website, «Enjoy the ride» est un roman. Je suis écrivain amateur à mes heures perdues, et cette œuvre est inspirée du journal de bord que nous tenons lors de nos voyages. J’y ai ajouté de la fiction, et une toute petite touche de fantastique et d'onirisme. Certains personnages sont fictifs, et d'autres sont bien réels : en effet, nous les avons rencontrés durant nos virées et voyages ; et même si c’était éphémère, ils nous ont marqués d’une façon ou d’une autre. Aussi, nous avons jugé que la meilleure façon d'expliquer le sens de ce logo était tout simplement de montrer l’extrait du roman où il apparaît pour la première fois :

(...) Puis Tom remarqua sur l'étui du violon posé à terre un autocollant représentant la planète terre schématisée avec les océans en bleu et les continents en vert. Elle était confondue avec une émoticône adressant un clin d'œil. Autour était écrit «Enjoy the ride».
«J'adore ce truc ! dit-il. Qu'est-ce que ça signifie exactement ?
- Oh, plusieurs choses, répondit Lori : il faut profiter de chaque virée, que ce soit une petite balade ou un grand voyage. La vie, c'est le mouvement. Vivre c'est explorer, rencontrer, découvrir. C'est une quête inlassable du bonheur. Comme toi et tes amis, par exemple : profitez au maximum de votre voyage qui commence. Faites-vous en un souvenir impérissable et partagez ce bonheur avec d'autres personnes. D'ailleurs la vie elle-même est un voyage, alors profitez de chaque instant de la vie.
- «La vie est un voyage», répéta Chaz. J'adore !
- Et moi j'adore tout ce que tu viens de dire, continua Tom. Violoniste et philosophe. Je suis impressionné.
- Merci. Tu sais, «ride» a beaucoup de significations. D'où le choix de ce mot.
- C'est vrai approuva Irina. Ça peut aussi signifier une chevauchée. En vélo, en moto ou à cheval. Mais aussi en surf et en bodyboard : (...) le «ride», c'est le temps que tu passes sur la vague. Et chaque fois, tu te dis qu'il faut en profiter, car c'est un moment énorme, une sensation unique. Ça dure quelques secondes. C'est long et court à la fois. C'est toute une philosophie, en fait : tu partages la vie d'une vague. Tu commences ton «ride» quand elle se forme, et tu le termines quand elle meurt. Tout un symbole !» (...)
 
Dom



NB - LES BREVETS POUR LE ROMAN «ENJOY THE RIDE» AINSI QUE POUR LE LOGO L'ACCOMPAGNANT ONT ÉTÉ DÉPOSÉS. TOUTE REPRODUCTION, MÊME PARTIELLE, EST STRICTEMENT INTERDITE ET PASSIBLE DE POURSUITES.


Publié le 1er décembre 2012

Modifié le 24 avril 2020


Facebook

Notre nouvelle rubrique : «Nos villes de coeur - Ottawa»

Cliquez ici

De nouvelles villes dans notre rubrique «Nos articles - Belgique» : Anvers, Lier, Malines et Louvain

Cliquez ici


Notre rubrique «Nos anecdotes - Îles Féroé»

Cliquez ici


Notre rubrique «Nos anecdotes - Islande»

Cliquez ici


Notre rubrique «Nos articles - Îles Féroé»

Cliquez ici


Notre rubrique «Nos articles - Islande»

Cliquez ici


De nouvelles villes dans notre rubrique «Nos photos - Belgique» : Anvers, Lier, Malines et Louvain

Cliquez ici


Notre rubrique «Nos photos - Islande»


Notre rubrique «Nos photos - Îles Féroé»

Cliquez ici


La rubrique  «Nos articles - USA (2013)», nouvelle version

Plus de photos, plus de textes

Cliquez ici


La rubrique  «Nos villes de coeur - Flagstaff» avec de nouvelles images

Cliquez ici


Notre article inédit sur l'Autriche publié par le website 38 000 Km !
Remerciements à Mireille et Jeanne

Cliquez ici


Notre article inédit sur le Sud du Brésil publié par le website Geoploria !
Remerciements à Sylvie et Mandy

Cliquez ici


Notre interview publiée sur le website Geoploria !
Remerciements à Sylvie et Mandy

Cliquez ici